Ipsy July 2015 Header

I have a modest makeup collection, but I haven’t really purchased anything other than drugstore products since my daughter was born. I don’t have the time or energy to waltz around Sephora and Ulta like I used to, and I certainly have less spare cash to spend these days. But I missed the fun of collecting different products and trying new things. I’m a little new to beauty subscription boxes. I had been curious for a while, and after a little research, I decided to try Ipsy in May, and…I’ve been pretty much hooked. 

As a mom, I have a habit of questioning myself and feeling guilty about every dollar I spend on myself rather than my daughter. And there’s nothing like the rage you feel when you shell out a big chunk of change for a higher-end product… and end up hating it. Ipsy and Birchbox are great because they are pretty low cost, easily cancelled, and most items are in a trial or mini size. And if you decide you like a product and want to purchase full sized, both services offer points and discounts towards full-size products.

Am I particularly skilled with my makeup application? Not really. I am definitely no expert in the makeup arena. I mostly just shoot for looking less dead for my day-to-day look.

So here’s what I got with Ipsy this month:

Screen Shot 2015-07-19 at 11.57.00 PM

First of all, the bag is super cute! I think this might be my favorite one so far. Colorful, quirky, and fun! I will definitely be using this bag in my purse or for my daily makeup products.

Eva NYC – Freshen Up Dry Shampoo

Screen Shot 2015-07-19 at 11.54.27 PM

So, I’m typically not a big fan of dry shampoo. I usually can’t go more than a day or two without washing my hair. I tried a drugstore brand of dry shampoo a year or two ago and it just made my hair smell like dirt and rubbing alcohol without actually making my hair look any less greasy. So far, I dig this one though. First of all, it smells great. It reminds me of Viva La Juicy perfume. Yum! I tried it for the first time this morning. I sprayed it near my roots and massaged it in, and although no dry shampoo is going to make my hair look as good as it does when freshly washed, I definitely didn’t look homeless. It smells great, makes my hair look good…I can’t find anything bad to say about this product.

Teez Cosmetics- Read My Lips Lipstick in Killing Me Softly

Screen Shot 2015-07-19 at 11.53.39 PM

I’ve been trying to branch out and try a more bold lip, so this pick was right up my alley. It’s more of a coral color, which is my new favorite color right now. I like the way it looks with my pale-yet-kinda-red-and-blotchy complexion. And I love the funky cool packaging. The only thing I didn’t love about this is that it was not moisturizing and made my lips feel really dry because of the matte finish. Still, overall, I loved this product. Super cool.

Nicka K New York – HQ Quad Eyeshadow

Screen Shot 2015-07-19 at 11.52.37 PM

When I saw my preview of what my July Ipsy bag was going to include, a different quad was shown. I was so relieved when I did not get the one pictured in my Ipsy account in the mail. The preview image was a quad with a teal shadow. I love teal and turquoise, but it does not look the greatest on me.  The four shimmery neutrals are super gorgeous and work well with my skin tone. I’ve been on a matte shadow kick for a while, so it’s been nice to change it up a little bit. The colors go on great and blend pretty nicely Loved this.

Screen Shot 2015-07-19 at 11.50.23 PM

City Color Cosmetics – HD Powder

This stuff I’m still not sure about. It literally looks and smells like chalkboard dust. Remember when you were a kid and you would clap the chalkboard erasers at school? Literally what this stuff is like. So far, this product is okay. It’s not something I’d typically buy or be interested in, so I’m not particularly excited about it.

Screen Shot 2015-07-19 at 11.46.38 PM

pūr~lisse – pur-bright ultra skin brightening serum

Also feeling pretty neutral about this pick as well. Not a product that I’m interested in, so it’s hard to get excited about it. I can barely commit to using moisturizer before slapping my foundation on each day. I don’t really get excited about giving myself extra steps to get ready in the morning.

Due to busy schedules and a cranky & feverish baby, it took me longer than I had hoped to get this post together, so I will be including my review of my very first Birchbox in my next post! Until then, leave me something in the comments! Are you subscribed to any beauty boxes? What’s your favorite?

Note: This post is not sponsored, and all opinions are my own.